Translation of Whore Windows: By Rawaa Kalassina

Standard

I am sharing a letter  by Lebanese blogger, Rawaa Kalassina entitled: Whore Windows , it was published on her blog on December 27th, 2011.  I translated it from it’s original in Arabic: http://trafficjam.blogs.france24.com/article/2011/12/28-0

The letter  has been circulating social media sites for a few days now.   Kalassina wrote these powerfull words to denounce accusations of prostitution by internauts to Tal Malouhi a young Syrian blogger who was arrested two years ago at the age of 19. Tal started a hunger strike: http://nidaasyria.org/en/?p=827

The letter is striking in that it exposes the hypocrisy in using honor to punish women. It  evokes violence against women  in Congo, Bahrain, Egypt and draws parallels with Tal Al Malouhi.  Kalassina captures the harsh realities of women fighting for their rights with beautiful prose.

My apologies to Rawaa Kalassina if I somewhat lost the force of her words in translation.  Any errors or omissions are my own.  I thought that this letter was too powerful not to translate.  She addresses it to the honorables of the day.  Thank you Rawaa for being so articulate and speaking in the name of all oppressed women world wide.

Dear honorables of the day

Yes I am a whore… a whore from the Democratic Republic of the Congo…. I was raped not at least sixty times, mostly during my daily journeys to gather food and water, once in account settling between tribes and once in your pushing my family to leave so you can control the resources which were discovered in my town, and once with no apparent reason, only for fun…. yes I am the whore, my mother also is a whore like me, she too was raped by you despite her old age… my seven year old daughter also became a whore, after you violated her with a knife…. my husband refused to mourn his whore child, and instead, he divorced me and walked out on the entire family, as he is not honored by his ties to whores…. and so you  hastily call me a whore,    and accuse me of asking to be raped, at a time you force your women  to go out  (as I do) and fend for themselves… yes we are whores and you are honorable.

Dear honerables of the day

Yes I am a whore…. the Pearl circle whore in Bahrain… I went down there to demand social justice and pitched my tent thinking that the presence of a female would awaken your Arab gallantry and prevent you from attacking my sons and brothers, but you accused me of being a Persian whore who converted her tent into a brothel… you linked my demands to foreign agendas and converted the cause to sectarian incitement and you defeated my honor like you defeated the Pearl circle… yes I am the whore who asked for housing subsidies like the ones given to those close to the ruling class… I am the whore who hoped for a job like those you give to expatriates…. yes I am the whore who wanted  fair political representation….

Dear honorables of the day

Yes I am a whore… the Tahrir square whore…. I annoyed you because I searched for stability in the country instead of a husband to settle down with…I searched for a revolutionary roof to protect all my people in stead of a man to house me, as though I were homeless… I sat in and pitched my tent to search for social justice and fight corruption, so you accused me of going to the square to look for a man and fight spinsterhood… I said that I didn’t want a man before having a home country, so you tested my virginity, as a virgin can not think further than her marriage night…yes I am that whore who wanted to free you from that tissue which blinds you, so you hastened to denude me in the street to avenge my voice and ideas.

Dear honerables of the day

Yes I am a whore, a blog whore, I wrote with the pen of a girl discovering causes and dreams, so I was arrested before turning nineteen… I went on hunger strike after spending two years in prison, so you rushed to internet sites to wish me death, to call me an agent whore…an agent because I wrote about the Palestinian cause and Arabisim… then I was arrested… I was arrested because I dishonored the state when I declared with a whore’s audacity that ” I wanted to be in your place oh master … if only for one day to establish the republic of sentiments. ” … Oh what a whore ! How can a whore have the audacity to talk to the President… how can she ask for presidency… how can she aspire to establish a republic.. a republic of sentiments… sentiments apparently are the curse of whores.. yes I am Tal Malouhi, the whore who still rots in prison because she desecrated  her pen.

N.B.  this letter is to societies which measure their honor between a woman’s thighs and then shame their women.

This article was not written by Tal Al Malouhi it only attempts to support her because she started her hunger strike on Tuesday and is subject to a defamation campaign since then.

By Rawaa Kalassina


Leave a Reply

